360TravelGuide.com, leaders in interactive travel information
Top Reviews this week: Plaza Tarraco Tarragona ... Divine Kenyan beaches ... Picturesque Sorrento ...
Home > Travel Guides > Europe > Greece > Public Holidays

Greece Public Holidays

READER REVIEW
TRAVELBLOG
360TG EDITOR'S REVIEW

Public Holidays in Greece

If you're planning a trip to Greece, it's worth considering the dates of the Greek public holidays or bank holidays.

Greece has a mixture of traditional religious & national holidays which are celebrated everywhere from Athens on the mainland right across all the many islands such as Rhodes, Corfu, Crete, Paxos, Kefalonia & Santorini.

The main holidays are as follows:

Greek Public Bank Holidays
2012
 
Sunday January 1 - New Year's Day - Protochronia

Friday January 6
- Epiphany or 12th Night - Theofania

Monday March 5
- Shrove Monday or Ash Monday - Kathari Deftera

Sunday March 25
- Independence Day - Eikosti-pempti

Friday April 13
- Orthodox Good Friday

Monday April 16
- Orthodox Easter Monday - Deutera tou Pascha

Tuesday May 1
- Labour Day - Ergatiki Protomagia

Monday May 28
- Orthodox Whit Monday

Wednesday August 15
- Assumption Day

Sunday October 28
- Ochi Day (Day of the "no") - Imera tou Ochi

Tuesday December 25
- Christmas Day - Christougenna

Wednesday December 26
- Boxing Day - Synaxis Theotokou
 

areopagus courtroom athens
areopagus courtroom athens

2013
 
Tuesday January 1 - New Year's Day - Protochronia

Sunday January 6
- Epiphany or 12th Night - Theofania

Monday March 18
- Shrove Monday or Ash Monday - Kathari Deftera

Monday March 25
- Independence Day - Eikosti-pempti

Friday May 3
- Orthodox Good Friday

Monday May 6
- Orthodox Easter Monday - Deutera tou Pascha

Wednesday May 1
- Labour Day - Ergatiki Protomagia

Monday June 24
- Orthodox Whit Monday

Thursday August 15
- Assumption Day or Dormition Day

Monday October 28
- Ochi Day (Day of the "no") - Imera tou Ochi

Wednesday December 25
- Christmas Day - Christougenna

Thursday December 26
- Boxing Day - Synaxis Theotokou
 

propylaia athens
propylaia athens

To view public bank holidays for other countries & locations in the world, try our Worldwide Public Holidays section
 

 

 
 Explore Greece
 More Public Holidays
Europe
 
Africa
Asia
Australasia
North America
South America
Worldwide

Home |  Travel Guides | Reviews | Travelblogs | Competition | Newsletter | Travel Directory | Conditions of Use | Latest News | About Us
360CITYpack | 360RESORTpack | Contact Us | Help |  Privacy | Sitemap | NICKI THOMAS WEB DESIGN
 
© 360TravelGuide.com 2012. All Rights Reserved.